Troubleshooting network issues

by / Tuesday, 12 March 2013 / Published in Troubleshooting

This article asks several questions you should ask yourself while you are working with the network.

Are all your Darkroom applications the same version number?

You can check the version number by clicking on the question mark on the top right of the program.



Is your photos folder shared with the permissions set that all computers are allowed to change files?

It is possible to test this option. First, you will need to check your client computer to see if you can access the shared folders on the network. This information is available via the Start menu, then My Network Places. Browse the network for your server’s shared folders. Once found, open the “photos” folder and create a new folder. After you create the folder, delete it. If you can do this you shared the information on the network.



Are all your computers on the same workgroup?

Click on the Start menu in the lower left portion of the screen. Right click on “My Computer” within the Start Menu. In the menu that appears, click on “Properties.”

Depending on which operating system you use will determine how you progress to the next step:

Windows XP: Click on the “Computer Name” tab to find your workgroup.

Windows 2000: Click on the “Network Identification” tab to find your workgroup.

Windows 98: Right click on “Network” and click on “Properties” in the menu. Finally, click on the “Identification” tab.

Now, check to see if all computers are on the same workgroup. If they are not on the same workgroup, click on the “Change” button. This will change which workgroup you are on.

When your workgroup is correct, click “OK.” Your computer may ask you to reboot. If it does, restart the computer.


Was the server software turned on and initialized before the client software?

To check this, close all Darkroom applications – Server and client stations. Now, turn on the computer running the server first. Load up the Darkroom server software. Once this is done, turn on the client stations and load up the software. If the ExpressDigital application is closed, and you look in “My Computer,” is there an X: drive? If there is an X: drive available when the Darkroom software is turned off, then you must remove the existing X: drive. When Darkroom is opened, it creates an X:drive. If there is one already in use, then Darkroom cannot load properly.The first step in removing an existing X: drive is to make sure all Darkroom applications are closed. Click on the Start menu in the lower left portion of the screen. Click on “Run” in the Start menu. This will open the Run dialogue window.

In the text field, type: SUBST X: /D
The existing X: drive should be eliminated at this point. When you start up ExpressDigital, the application should create a new X: drive.



Is there only one “PHOTOS” folder shared and is that folder located on your server computer?

In any workgroup there can only be one shared folder named “Photos”. This folder must be located on the server computer. Double-check that the only folder shared as “Photos” on the network is located on the server, and that there are no other folders shared as “Photos” on the client computer(s). A quick and easy way to find out is to check through the command prompt.

Click on Start, then Run.

Type CMD, and click OK. A command prompt window should appear, with a blinking cursor.

Type NET SHARE and hit enter. A list of shared folders shou show up under share name.

If one of the folders is called “Photos” and you are on a client/workstation, then you must unshare the folder by typing in NET SHARE PHOTOS /D and pressing enter.

A message will say that the share has been deleted.

TOP